Fall’s our favorite: fall, in a cake!

fall1

It’s not *E* this time, it’s *A* posting-believe it or not 🙂

One of my favorite things to do is cook/bake. All my co-workers know this and sometimes they get to reap the benefits of my cooking. When they are lucky, I bring something I cooked on Sunday, usually the dessert, to work on Monday. Sometimes, I have to be honest, it is hard to part with a sweet decadence. Such is the story this week…

I started a tradition a couple of months ago-Sunday dinner. I love to cook and was inspired by the Julie/Julia movie. It is now one of my favorites. No, I am not cooking through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, as that was Julie’s idea and I wanted my own idea. So, I decided I would take a daring recipe and attempt to make it on Sunday. It is always accompanied by some type of dessert. My first dish was boeuf bourguignon. *E* loved it and wants me to make it again (and again). I made it from Julia Child’s show because I didn’t have her book yet. I have also made my own pasta, chicken with apples and sweet potatoes, crepes, and today, pot roast with potatoes and carrots. Every Sunday is also the day I make bread from a great recipe I found on Pinterest for peasant bread. I don’t buy bread anymore and probably never will again.

Apple Cream Cheese Bundt Cake 003

Dessert for this week was apple cream cheese bundt cake and it was DELICIOUS! It was not a particularly challenging recipe. You simply make the cream cheese filling, make the cake by combining all the dry ingredients (which include lovely spices like nutmeg, cinnamon, and all spice) add the wet ingredients, and then add cut up apples and pecans, the pecans are roasted in the oven for approximately 7 minutes just for good measure. Place most of the cake batter in a bundt pan (remembering to grease it REALLY WELL), add the cream cheese filling, and then top with the rest of the cake batter, bake for 1 hour and PRESTO, fall, in a cake! Before serving, you make a very simple praline glaze to put on the cake along with some more pecans.Apple Cream Cheese Bundt Cake 004

Sorry co-workers, *E* has forbidden me to bring this to work. 

I love baking in the fall because it brings all these wonderful smells and foods together, apples, maple, pumpkin; and the cold weather brings beef stew, chili, and tomato soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. Probably for the rest of the fall, Sunday dinner will have some sort of fall-flavored ingredient, whether in the main dish or in the sweet something-or-other at the end. I look forward to cooking and baking in the fall with our wee-one when they come along.

I also think it is important for families to sit around the table for dinner, not just on Sunday, but every day. It gives us a chance to talk about the day, not distracted by a box of noise (the TV) and connect with each other. It is the way we were both raised and we will continue this with the littlest Brooks-Livingston.

2 thoughts on “Fall’s our favorite: fall, in a cake!

Comments?

