Books to Chew On

A couple of months ago, I got myself a new toy: a sewing machine.  Sewing machines aren’t entirely foreign to me – I took a mandatory Home Ec class in middle school and opted to take another one in high school.  Before I got this sewing machine, though, I hadn’t used one since 9th grade, and wasn’t entirely sure it’s akin to bicycle-riding (i.e., you never forget how to do it).

I’d been stacking up some projects to work on (thank you, black hole of Pinterest), should I ever acquire a sewing machine, and I finally decided to go ahead and get one, since the project-plans I had accumulated were all kid-oriented. Many of these projects are the result of thought-process chain reactions – for example: we decided early on that we would cloth diaper our kids. If you’re going cloth diaper, you might as well use cloth wipes.  If you’re going to use cloth wipes, you might as well make them. If you’re going to make a few, you might as well make quite a few. If you’re going to make quite a few… (See how quickly this turns into one of those If You Give A Pig A Pancake books?) I used the cloth wipes project to remember how to use a sewing machine.  52 wipes – yes, 52 – later, I think I’ve got it.  Turns out you don’t really forget, or at least I didn’t.  But there are a lot more ways I want to be able to use my new sewing machine than what I did way back when I first learned.  All in good time…

Another of my re-learning / remembering projects came from seeing this cloth book panel on Fabric.com (because if you’re going to sew, you need fabric, and if you don’t live near a fabric store, you might as well look for it online…)

clothbooks pad patternThe Paddington ABC book panel

Cloth books come from a panel of fabric and the directions, printed on the side of the panel, instruct you how to put it the fabric together with interfacing in the middle to make a book.  I got the Paddington panel first.  Paddington was one of my favorite characters from books I had as a kid – more on that another time – but in case I didn’t quite have it together, I didn’t want to start with this project for fear that I might screw it up. I found another cloth book project at a not-so-local fabric store and decided I would start with that one.

I did the first cloth book (on the right, below) a few weeks ago and finally found time today to finish the Paddington book. Naturally, I want to show off my newly-remembered sewing prowess.

clothbooks 1

Both books are for learning the alphabet.

clothbooks 2

*A* is a fan of owls – there are going to be owls all over the house, The Littlest might as well know what to call them.

clothbooks 3

This book (above) turned out to be a good one to learn on.

clothbooks 4

Inside of the Paddington book – this one wasn’t difficult, but I did avoid a few of the mistakes I made on the first book, so I’m glad I did that one first.

I’ve written before about how important it is to us to read to our kids, and even before we know anything about our kids or when they’ll arrive, we’ve gathered quite a little library.  I know I’m going to want to read to our kid right away, even when the kid is a baby, but babies drool and chew on things, especially when they’re teething (which is pretty much what, the first two, three, six years?).  Paper books obviously don’t hold up well to drooling and chewing. Hmm…what to do…HEY! a cloth book!

I had cloth books when I was a very small kid.  I can actually remember chewing on them, so there you go.  I put fleece on the inside of these so they’re nice and cushy.  Chew away, wee one!

Wait, we don’t have a wee one yet.

Well, they’re available for chewing whenever those momentous days of cloth-book-chewing arrive.

One thought on “Books to Chew On

  1. Pingback: Sewing Projects – For Drooly Days | The Littlest Brooks-Livingston

Comments?

