Tune for Tuesday: Somewhere Over the Rainbow

somewhere over the rainbow buttonsEven a song as time-worn, kitschy, and overplayed as this can have new meaning when you’re eyeball deep in dreaming, hoping, and preparing for a big life change:

A co-worker of mine was singing this song the other day after listening to the Hawaiian version by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole (which I like a lot more – sorry, Judy) and it got stuck in my head, too.  Then I started thinking about it on my way home from work that day and…

I guess I should’ve called this post “Eyeroll Tuesday” or “*E*’s turned into a bit ol’ softie Tuesday,” but neither of those  had quite have the same tone, however true they might be 🙂 

Image credits: Rainbow buttons-http://www.linesacross.com/2011/09/somewhere-over-button-rainbow.html

4 thoughts on “Tune for Tuesday: Somewhere Over the Rainbow

  1. I *love* both versions and will never tire of them. Fortunate me 🙂 Israel’s version stopped me midstream of a conversion while eating out for breakfast with a friend. Tears literally flooded to my eyes, thinking of my daughter who recently moved out of state. Then the sweetness of it overwhelmed me…what a wonderful world. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I have never heard the newer version but I grew up with Judy Garland. the newer version would have to be a whole yonder better version before I would change my mind……[?]

    On Tue, Nov 12, 2013 at 7:03 AM, The Littlest Brooks-Livingston wrote:

    > ebrookslivingston posted: “Even a song as time-worn, kitschy, and > overplayed as this can have new meaning when you’re eyeball deep in > dreaming, hoping, and preparing for a big life change: > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HRa4X07jdE A co-worker of mine was > singing this song th”

    • Well, the newer version would certainly be out of place in the Wizard of Oz movie, but I like the new one for everyday listening (not that I listen to it everyday – I’m sure it would get old) better than Judy’s version. Both good in their own right.

Comments?

