The Sunshine Award

sunshine awardA few weeks ago, I wrote a post about a fellow adoption blogger, Kristen, whose blog, Adoption Love, I follow. Kristen, in turn, has nominated The Littlest Brooks-Livingston for a Sunshine Award.  Thanks!

I wasn’t familiar with what this whole blog award thing is about (What? Did I just win a blogging Oscar? Shall I prepare a speech? What is this?!). These awards (apparently there are many, and they have varied “rules”) turn out to be a fun way of recognizing the blogs your follow and a chance to ask some questions.  *Whew* I’m no good at speeches!

The official rules for The Sunshine Award:

  • Proudly post your sunshiney new award
  •  Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you
  •  Nominate 11 wonderful bloggers
  • Write 11 questions for them to answer
  • Let the nominated blogger know you have nominated them

The questions Kristen asked of The Littlest Brooks-Livingston (it’s me, *E*, answering):

1. What is the best advice you’ve ever gotten?
Oh, so let’s start off with a tough one, huh?  Well, I’m running through my mental rolodex of good bits of advice – I get a lot of advice, apparently – but I suppose it’s a tie between *better tie your shoelaces!* and *how ’bout you try not to over-think this one?* Both good suggestions meant to keep me out of trouble.  Granted, there’s a bit of an age-range there (I haven’t been advised to tie my shoelaces in maybe 25 years, but I can’t say that as an 8-year-old I wasn’t told not to “over-think”). (As you see, I’m over-thinking now).
2. What is your first childhood memory?
No idea how old I was, but I remember sitting on a swing under a huge poplar tree with my grandmother in the afternoons – she kept me when I was little.  She would take an apple and a kitchen knife and peel the whole apple in one long strand.  I was fascinated.  Then she would scrape the apple with the knife and feed it to me from the non-sharp side.  I must’ve been two or three.
3. If you could choose another time in history to live, when would it be?
This is another tough one for me because there are so many things to consider – societal and medical advances that we have today have a long way to go, but they’re nothing to sneeze at.  That said, if I could manage to bring some of those good things along with me, I would want to be in my age now in the 1930s.  Desperate period of time, and I don’t think anyone who lived through it didn’t come out of it without bearing scars.  I’ve always been  interested in U.S. history – have an M.A. in it – and nearly every time I did a research project, it was on some aspect of the 1930s – even back in high school.  It was probably the influence of my grandparents (one born in 1917, another in 1920), so there you go.
creative family
4. What’s the last book you read and what was it about?
Just finished The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule – posted about it yesterday.
It’s a fantastic book all about how to connect with your family through creative projects – most of them involving being outdoors.  I highly recommend it and the other books Soule has written (up and coming on my Goodreads list), as well as her blog.
5. How did you meet your significant other?
The first time I met *A,* we were sitting on opposite sides of the “I’m Interested in Being an English Major” table at a scholarship day for the college we both attended.  Instant rivalry – on my part anyway.  She remembers none of it.  It was a whole year and a half later that we actually became good friends and then a little while after that, best friends.  And then we got married.  🙂
6. What’s the best way to get on your good side?
Not that I’d turn down any baked goodies, but really, I am most impressed by (or most drawn to) people who demonstrate genuineness and sincerity.  I really appreciate people who are very real, purposeful,  and considerate – here, I am thinking of the way people listen to me, the way they talk to me, and the way I feel that a relationship is reciprocated equally.  Seriously, though, chocolate chip cookies wouldn’t hurt.
7. What’s your favorite thing to do on a Saturday morning?
Wake up in a tent, eat a quick breakfast, and hit the trail.
glen coe scottish highlands
8. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
Are you kidding?  That is an impossible question.  To keep from having a headache at thinking of all the possibilities, I’m going to re-write the question to say “visit.”  If I could visit anywhere in the world, top of my list right now is a lengthy trip to the U.K.  I’ve had a life-long dream of seeing Scotland, since that’s where the Livingstons come from, and of course, I’d like to see England and Wales, too.  What I’d like to see when we get there has changed over the years as I’ve considered my options – now, I’m veering much more toward the Lake District in Northern England, or the Cotswolds toward the southern end, and then there’s Glencoe in the Scottish Highlands (pictured on the right; source).  Clearly, I’d be over there for 6 months.  And then there’s Ireland…the Giant’s Causeway, the Guiness Storehouse
9. What has been your favorite “adoption moment” so far?
To date, our biggest moment so far has been being listed “in the books” with our agency.  It was the culmination of many months of paperwork and worry. It was a real something-to-celebrate moment!
10. What would your family pet say to you if they could talk?
Substitute Tucker, our faithful dopey black lab-boxer mix, for the golden retriever in this photo:
working dog
11. What is the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?
Dare I ask, “African or European?”

My nominations, all part of the Open Adoption Bloggers network:

Heather and Holly Adopt

One More Cook

Andrea and Scott Adopt

The Thompson Family Blog

Susan & Mitch (hope to) adopt

Sweet Dreams are Made of This

Perfectly Paired

Over the Spoon

We Love St. Patrick’s Day

Jason and Justin Adopt

Riding on Truth

And my questions for the nominees:

1.  What’s one of the songs in your current Ipod / cd player / Pandora rotation and why do you like it?

2. What is one thing you’re deathly afraid of?

3.  Who makes you laugh?

4.  Presuming you can cook, what’s your favorite thing to cook?

5.  Describe your most embarrassing moment – if you’re anything like me, you might need it narrowed down – of 2013.

6.  What’s the weirdest job task you’ve ever had?

7.  What’s one parenting moment you’re looking forward to most?

8.  Would you rather have a wand or a light saber?

9. What book is on your nightstand?

10. What childhood moment will you try to recreate with your child(ren)?

11.  (Stealing this one from Kristen): What’s your favorite adoption moment so far?

3 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. I think I finally figured this out!! Thank you so much for nominating me!!! It really made me excited and I am so happy to know there is at least someone out there reading what I write…..

    1. One of the songs on my IPod is “Wag on Wheel” by Darius Rucker. I like it, first of all, because I love country music. And also because it reminds me that I got my husband to start liking country music as well and he always plays this song real loud when we are in the truck driving somewhere.

    2. One thing I am very afraid of is losing anyone I love and very close with. Especially my immediate family – like my husband, mom, dad, brother, or sister. I just don’t know what I would do if anything happened to any of them.

    3. Who makes me laugh? I love to laugh! I have to say that it would have to be Ryan, my husband.

    4. This is a good question! I never was much of a cooker. I actually considered myself “domestically challenged”. However, when Ryan went to first shift in Sept I started cooking more and I am actually learning a lot and I am not half bad! My favorite thing to cook is chicken cacciatore. I make it in the crockpot. Starting with a homemade tomatoe sauce and adding chicken, peppers, onion, and mushrooms.

    5. My most embarrassing moment of 2013 would be the day I got called in to a meeting at work with two of my supervisors and this new lady they hired as a psychologist. I quickly realized that my two bosses had discussed me (along with the other therapists) with this new lady behind my back. They then proceeded to tell me everything I have done wrong and what they considered my “weaknesses” were. They did this with all of the other therapists as well. I was in tears!! I felt terrible and totally embarrassed. I wished I hadn’t cried and had instead gotten angry (which I did afterward) and I wish I had told them how unprofessional it was to have brought me into a meeting like that with a lady I’ve known five minuets! Very embarrassing.

    6. This isn’t exactly weird but it is kind of odd. At my job every holiday – no matter what – Christmas, Memorial Day – whatever they make us call all of our families and offer our “support” over the “long weekend” and remind them that it is a 24/7 program. No one ever wants our help and I feel like such a dork calling and asking.

    7. The parenting moment I am looking forward to the most is the feedings in the middle of the night. I know, I’m nuts! Right? I just think it would be so peaceful to be in the rocker with the baby in the wee hours of the morning and just have those little eyes staring back at me. I imagine it will feel the whole world is quiet and asleep and it’s just me and the baby. 🙂

    8. I am going to say a wand because I am not sure what a light sabor is 🙂

    9. Well in the drawer of my nightstand is my journal – if that counts as a book. But current book I am reading on my Kindle is Dot Complicated.

    10. The childhood moment I look forward to re-creating is – well, there’s a tie for two – pancake breakfasts and horseback riding.

    11. Love this question! My favorite adoption moment so far has to be when I was
    talking to my mom about the adoption and our profile key and she was giving me some advice and she told me that out of all three of her children I am the strongest. She told me she knows I can handle whatever comes our way because I’ve been through so much already. Just hearing that from my mom gave me so much confidence and made me feel strong.

Comments?

