Note to Self: Stop. It.

stop overanalyzingThough I’ve made valiant strides in the past few months of the waiting-to-adopt process, I’ll readily admit it: positivity – well, it hasn’t always come easy to me.  For as long as I can remember, I’ve had a tendency towards getting bogged down in the details.  I’ve mentioned this before.  And even though we’ve come a long way in the adoption process so far, it has sometimes been difficult to distract myself from worries over the steps that are still between us and parenthood.  My head is all too often full of worse-case scenario landmines and (though it might be news to some of you) I am a serious, card-carrying What-Iffer.

Eh, does that get old.  Even for me. 

So, not knowing the length of this particular curve in the road, I figured a few months back that rather than take that tiresome perspective, I might as well adjust my viewpoint – every day, if necessary.  Hence the daily blogging for the past couple of months.  (Yeah, the whole filling up your inbox – for those of you who’re subscribing via email – eh, sorry ’bout that. 🙂  This blog, which started out as sort of a record of our experiences, is still that, and it has also become sort of a space for mapping out hopes and dreams, dealing with some bigger questions, wrapping our heads around this whole thing that is open adoption, and – hopefully, giving an expectant mom a better picture of who we are.

When I’m not cooking up another post, I’ve found humor, thanks largely to the person who makes me laugh more than anyone else – *A* – a good way to take my mind off things.  We laugh a lot.  Sometimes we laugh like 4th graders reading knock-knock jokes.  We actually have a couple of actual knock-knock jokes on stand-by for emergency laughter-needed situations.  Hey, whatever works…

A few months ago, my mom sent me a link to a video that captures probably the best way to deal with this worry-wart tendency of mine – especially when it becomes a runaway train of what-ifs.  It’s Bob Newhart on MadTV, of all places, playing a mental health counselor.

So there you go – a perfect solution.  And I’ll just keep to myself how many times this punchline has been used against me since we first watched this video.  🙂

image source

3 thoughts on “Note to Self: Stop. It.

  1. Hahaha!!! I just love Bob Newhart! I will have to remember that myself when I get worked up over things I can’t control… hmmmm…must run in the family. Even though you have been “blowing up” the email… I look forward to reading it every day. To brighten your day I will share a conversation between a couple of my students yesterday. One asked the other if they knew where chocolate milk comes from and the other one said… well…duh…chocolate cows of course! Another one interrupted and said….no…that isn’t right… they feed chocolate to cows….that is how it happens….then another one piped up and asked…but what about strawberry milk??? Oh…to be seven years old again and not have anything to worry about other than where chocolate milk comes from…..

Comments?

