Words for Wednesday: The Sunglasses of Parenthood

sun behind clouds

On my way to work yesterday, anticipating yet another dreary rainy-ish wintery-looking day, I topped the mountain, ready to turn onto the Blue Ridge Parkway for the last half of my commute, and I saw a speck of blue sky.

I couldn’t take my eyes off of it (well, I was still watching the road).  I tuned out the NPR blaring in the background and all I could focus on was this tiny patch of blue sky, surrounded by grey clouds and blah-ness.  Suddenly it  was a metaphor for where we are in the adoption process.

A sign?  Maybe.

It gave me a visual – something to think about.

I am happy to say that by the time I got to work, the patch of blue had grown and it was sunny for most of the rest of the ride in.  I even had to get out my sunglasses. – first time in over a week.

I’m ready to get out the sunglasses of parenthood. They’re ready and waiting, perched in my visor overhead, just waiting for that patch of blue to grow out of the grey clouds and blah-ness.

2 thoughts on “Words for Wednesday: The Sunglasses of Parenthood

Comments?

