OAB Column – Just Add Baby…Someday: Nesting During the Wait

nest1

Now that we’re five months into our “official” wait,  we’ve settled into the reality that those fantastic stories  of super-quick adoptions – the “we just got our home study approval three days ago, we matched with an expectant parent yesterday,  and we’re bringing home our child in a week” kind – well, that didn’t happen to us.  Our agency gives us the estimate of an average of 18 months for the “official” wait, and since that’s an average of the many, many families they’ve worked with over the past 30-ish years, it helps us feel a little less anxious to know that those super-exciting and insta-family situations, while they do happen, and it’s great that they do – they’re not so much the actual norm.

Just like lots of folks who decide to adopt, we were super hopeful that we would be the exception to that average wait time. Weird as it may sound, we longed to be one of those families that would come together so quickly we’d find ourselves frantically buying baby stuff at midnight on the way to the hospital. Our experience has been different, though, and that’s okay too.  We’ll be no less happy when it does happen.

I’ve read the sage advice of others who wished they’d had more time to prepare, and while I can appreciate the intention, I also snort in the general direction of such a thought. Obviously, all things weighed in the balance, I’d prefer that frantic midnight rush for supplies to the anxiety and uncertainty of whether I’ll ever become a parent through adoption though we have had a perfectly prepared room for months.

Still, we haven’t disregarded this helpful guidance.  We’ve actually followed it.  Something about the preparation process, the getting-everything-ready-for-baby projects – nesting, seems to be the most used way of putting it – is like aloe on sunburned skin.  It makes the wait – the weight of the wait, if you will, easier to bear, somehow.

I’d heard of “nesting” before, but I can’t shake the image that always springs to mind from the movie Juno, in which there’s a scene where hopeful adoptive mom Vanessa is in the room she and her husband Mark have decided to use as their new child’s room.  Vanessa shows him several swatches of paint; Mark looks skeptical, saying “You could just wait a couple months.  It’s not like the baby’s going to storm in here any second and demand dessert-colored walls.”  Vanessa replies, “What to Expect says that readying the baby’s room is an important process…It’s called ‘nesting.’” Mark’s classic reply (classic perhaps in my mind only) is: “Nesting, huh? Are you planning to build the crib out of twigs and saliva?”

Mark’s  not 100% on board with the idea of being a dad, and that attitude certainly flavors his perspective a great deal.  I’m not trying to start some sort of pre-adoptive dad competition or anything, but I’m probably as far at the Mark’s end of the dad spectrum as a dad-wannabe  can get.  I have looked forward to dad-hood for a long, long time, well before my wife, *A*, decided the time was nigh. Having concrete projects to do, even if for an as-yet imaginary, but closer than ever before, someone makes me a little easier to live with (I hope…for *A*’s sake).

We’ve heard from and read that a lot of people don’t go in for the preparation – or, if they do, it’s to only a small extent.  There are a variety of reasons for this – that having everything ready or having a continual project on which to work – it’s just a painful reminder of the wait. Maybe a negative vibe from a failed match or previous situation that makes other people more cautious or selective about advance preparation.  Maybe it’s superstition or religious beliefs.  All these approaches are perfectly understandable. If we’ve learned anything, it’s that there’s no one way to go about enduring the wait.

Spun HoneyAfter many months of intermittent nesting, there’s a room in our house that we call “the baby’s room.”  Last summer, just prior to getting in the books with our agency, we gave it a fresh coat of paint (paint color: Spun Honey, pictured here), just in case we needed to be ready super-fast. The room is across the hallway from our bedroom, and we usually keep the door closed, partially so that we keep two nosey cats out, but also because the person for whom we prepared it isn’t there yet, and we don’t know when he or she will be.  Some people might think that’s really sad.  Sad, to have a whole room in your house that’s closed off, unused, waiting for something to happen.  For us, some days, yes, it does feel that way.  Those are the days that we just go into the room and sit in the rocking chair my parents gave us – the rocking chair that will one day rock our child to sleep. These are the moments that encourage me to believe with intent – with the courage of my convictions, as Julia Child (and *A*) might have put it, that we are doing so much more here than playing make-believe.  Sometimes just being in that room and looking that all the things that we have done in preparation of parenthood offers the realness that I need at that moment.

Though *A* has been just as involved in feathering our nest as I have, she will be the first to say that she doesn’t have quite the need for it that I do.  In fact, she has commented to me that sometimes it’s just funny to step back and watch me go.  In the past year, my version of building things out of twigs and spit has been characterized by periods of intense activity – must paint furniture! Must buy clothes! Must make blankets! Must paint walls! Must make artwork for the walls! Must obsessively research car seats, cloth diapering, and parenting techniques! Must organize purchases in drawers and closet! Must buy kids’ books! Must organize books by type, size, then by author! All of these projects are interspersed with days where the door to the baby’s room stays closed, flurry of activity over for the moment.

The room is ready now, dessert-colored walls and all.  The big projects have been checked off the to-do list, one by one. Now, I’m not saying I’m ready to keep the baby’s room door shut until that best-day-ever arrives, because we still need to feel the realness of our hopes of parenthood, and  besides, I’ve pretty consistently always have some kind of project going on, even little ones.  That’s just who I am.  Still, how many sewn-by-dad bibs, blankets, and drool bandanas does a kid need, after all?

Additional drool bandanas aside, everything is ready.  We are too.  Ready and willing.

Just add baby.

About the author:
Ethan is the co-writer (with his wife, *A*), of their personal open adoption blog, The Littlest Brooks-Livingston, which chronicles the occasionally trying, sometimes humorous, and always introspective dips and curves in the road to bringing home their first child through open adoption.  Ethan,  a recovering English major who has since moved on to another (more employable) area of the Liberal Arts, resides in Western North Carolina.

About this post:
What you just read is my sixth monthly column for Open Adoption Bloggers, part of a series I’m calling “The Art of Waiting.”  Read more about how and why I joined OAB here, or view this column in context to see comments posted by other OAB bloggers by clicking here.  Check out other my other columns in “The Art of Waiting” series here.

Image courtesy of Gualberto107 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

6 thoughts on “OAB Column – Just Add Baby…Someday: Nesting During the Wait

  1. What a great post! I am right there with you, though I am you and my husband is more like your wife. He is every bit as excited and ready, but he doesn’t quite feel the need to prepare prepare prepare like I do. Some days I wish I had his patience… but then we would probably not be prepared. You’re going to be an amazing father!

    • Everybody has their own process of preparedness, I guess. At least this way I can be productive! Thanks for the kind words – you guys are gonna be fantastic, too – I really admire your determination!

  2. Good…..

    On Thu, Feb 27, 2014 at 1:36 PM, The Littlest Brooks-Livingston wrote:

    > ebrookslivingston posted: ” Now that we’re five months into our > “official” wait, we’ve settled into the reality that those fantastic > stories of super-quick adoptions – the “we just got our home study > approval three days ago, we matched with an expectant parent yesterday, > and we”

  3. I always find it interesting to find out other waiting parents’ agency’s estimated wait times. Our agency (which has been around for 25 years) says the average wait is 2 years. So far my husband & I are 9 months in.

    I totally agree with this – “I’d prefer that frantic midnight rush for supplies to the anxiety and uncertainty of whether I’ll ever become a parent through adoption” – although I’m sure my husband doesn’t agree, as he likes lots and lots of time to prepare for everything. However, he doesn’t feel the pressure to prepare everything in advance for baby, like me. Our baby room – painted a wonderful soft yellow called “Sundress” – is interchangeably referred to as the baby room, the scrapbooking room, and the storage room, because it currently is all of the above. I can’t wait til it is only “the baby room” or better yet “[insert baby’s name]’s room”! 🙂

    • I think, sometimes, that these estimated wait times are like the carrot they dangle in front of us…because who really knows, right? Post-average-wait-time, I’m sure you get to feeling pretty crappy if you dwell on it too much, so I’m just going to try to ignore it before and (if need be) after.

      I’m with you – it’ll be good to give the “baby’s room” a much more official title 🙂

  4. I appreciate your thoughts on waiting. We have been officially waiting since the end of April, 2014. I suppose it’s not that long, but as you said, the official time waiting is different than the time spent longing for a “littlest” one in the family.

Comments?

